New Tank Fishless Cycle Journal

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

peter1209

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi,
Ok so as I mentioned in some of my previous asking for help threads I am completely new to fish keeping. I dunno if this is the right place for this kind of post but I decided to document my complete cycle from start to finish with test results etc.

My equipment:
98 Litre tank
Prime
Ammonia solution (5% ammonia content, from Robert Dyers here in the UK)
150w heater (temps showing around 28c/82f)
Air bubble bar
All Pond Sollutions Aquarium External Filter 1000 L/H
API Master test kit

20/02/2013 - Completely new setup, added prime, tested all values to make sure everything as it should be:
PH - 8.2
Ammonia (NH3) - 0 ppm
Nitrite (NO2-) - 0 ppm
Nitrate (NO3-) - 0 ppm

With all results showing as they should (i think) I added ammonia and raised it up to 4ppm.

23/02/2013 - While I understand nothing should really have changed I wanted to test mainly for practice and check the PH levels and ammonia. I did also add a very small amount of fish food.
PH - 8.2
Ammonia (NH3) - 3 ppm
Nitrite (NO2-) - 0 ppm
Nitrate (NO3-) - 0 ppm

Someone correct me if im wrong but as far as i can tell the results are to be be expected, hopefully in the next 3-4 days I should start to see an increase in Nitrites and a drop in ammonia.

Nothing to exciting so far but will update with each test etc, any advice is always welcome

Your doing everything right. How much live rock do you have in the tank?

@apet66: probably no live rock as it's freshwater :)