Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-17-2015, 03:41 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Linark2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 24
New tank issues

Hi everyone. Im very new at fish owning and i have a dilemma. I had a 32 litre tank set up with one male betta. all readings were 0 and ph was 7.6-7.8 (which is the levels out of my tap) after a month my betta got finrot. I went five days treating him with pimafix i decided that i will get him a bigger tank as the water wiĺ be easier to manage. I got a 2ft tank (around 66 litres) i used about 20 lutres of his old tank water, and the filter and plants feom the old tank. I did get new substrate and added a new sponge filter to the new tank. So i bought 3 small albino corydoras as tank mates for him. 1 day later i tested the water in his new tank and 0 for all readings but ph has plummeted to 6.4. I cant underatand why? what should i do iz it a safe level for my fish and should i continue to use pimafix (not sure if dangerous for corys) or see if cleaner water will heal the finrot. Sorry about the long boring rant

Sent from my SM-G900I using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________

__________________
Linark2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2015, 03:57 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
sinibotia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Central Maine
Posts: 3,909
Send a message via Skype™ to sinibotia
What is your water hardness? Specifically KH? That's the real important factor behind pH.
__________________

__________________
No tanks but my MTS is relapsing rapidly...
sinibotia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2015, 09:07 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mebbid's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 12,614
The only problem I'm having is with all the readings at 0.

This should never happen unless the water is brand new out of the faucet. What test kit are you using? And are you following the directions to the letter including timed shaking of the vials?
__________________
"The simplest explanation for some phenomenon is more likely to be accurate than more complicated explanations." -Occam's razor
Mebbid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2015, 11:28 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Linark2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 24
Sorry. I mistyped. I only have an amonia and ph test here. ammonia is whats at 0

Sent from my SM-G900I using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
Linark2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
new tank, tan, tank

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Tank issues...bear with me btufts Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 9 02-09-2007 03:24 PM
Help with New Tank water issues Blazetamer Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 21 08-17-2006 02:58 PM
issues with new tank ajwilt Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 9 02-12-2005 05:36 PM
New Planted tank issues and Questions - Long post Minze Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 6 01-10-2005 11:19 AM
Identification issues in new tank Cherry Barb Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 8 07-10-2004 07:02 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×