New Tank Setup

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Silversurfer

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi guys, I'm a newbie here. Looks like a great website!

Just need a bit of advice. Got a new 29 gallon tank and am currently setting it up. I couldn't find a perfectly sized runner to put under my new tank so I purchased three placemats. The thing is that in order for to keep the end from draping over the sides, I had to overlap the placemats. Does anyone think this could potentially cause stress to the tank and eventually cause it to crack and leak? These mats are really thin and once the tank is filled I'm anticipating it to weigh over 300 pounds.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks! :wink:

Hi Silversurfer! Welcome to A.A. Why do you want to put anything under your tank? I never put runners/placemats/towels or anything under my tanks. If it's thin enough it probably won't cause a problem but make sure you don't do anything that makes the tank uneven or puts uneven pressure in some spots and not others.

I have put it on my new 5 drawer dresser. Just wanted to put something under the tank so it doesnt look plain and to catch any water that drips over the side due to splashing.

I highly recommend that you do not put a 29 gallon tank on a dresser! Get a tank stand. Dressers are not made to hold the weight of an aquarium and especially a 5 drawer tall dresser.....I think you are asking for trouble with that set up. Imagine if the whole thing tipped over. If the dresser is long instead of tall then maybe....but I still wouldn't do it. If it's tall then no way!!!!! Too dangerous. Do you have children?