Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 11-02-2011, 01:51 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist

New to FW, setting up a ~5g tank

Hey everyone, I'm looking to set up a nano freshwater tank for my college dorm room. I have plenty of experience with saltwater, but I'm a fw noob. I don't remember sw being this intimidating haha

I really like all of those Iwagumi/Amano inspired aquascapes - is something like this possible in a simple setup for a beginner? I've done a bit of research but I'm still pretty clueless so bear with me. I want something low maintenance and simple that I can fit on my desk or bookshelf, so I've narrowed it down to a nano tank around 5 gallons. Would this Finnex 4 gallon be OK, or are there better starter kits you can recommend? For fish, I'm perfectly fine with a betta but I've done that before so what are some more interesting options? I like the look of neon tetras even though they are the basic starter fish.

Most of my questions have to do with lighting/plants. From what I have seen, strong lighting can be achieved pretty easily using regular CFL screw type bulbs. What about CO2 dosing? This is something I'm pretty confused about because of all of the options. What plants (keeping in mind the Iwagumi style if possible) are easy to maintain? Can CO2 be dosed entirely through additives like Excel and Flourish?

Sorry if I'm asking too many questions! I've read up on some of this stuff but I'd like to get it as clear as possible before I start buying things. Thanks!

Old 11-02-2011, 09:59 AM   #2
Look It Up

Hi! An Iwagumi should be possible in a smaller tank. Here's a google search which has info from various forums and even some youtube videos.