New to mollies, they've been dying

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Faelrin

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I don't know if this the right forum or not for this, and if it isn't I hope someone could move it to the right one.

I'm absolutely freaking out right now, and I was really hesitant to post this, because I thought I knew what I was doing with them and I guess I don't and so I'm asking for help. I'm desperate. This is my first time having them and I tried to do as much research as I could when I got them, and I kept finding information that some people were saying yes do this, and others were saying no don't do this or that. I'm seriously confused and I'm wondering if my fish have been dying because of that.

So after asking for suggestions for my tank, I looked them up and found that none of those would probably survive in my tank because our water is hard here. So after looking up for fish that could survive (live bearer's) in my water, I went to the fish store and ended up going with two cremesicle lyretail mollies. Well I got home and got on the internet and researched like crazy (as well as acclimating them to both temperature first and then to my aquarium water before putting them in the tank). I saw already that one female was not enough and that I should have more. I used the one aquarium calculator out there and wanted to make sure I wasn't going to overstock the aquarium they would be in, and got two more a couple days after. So total of 4 fish in my ten gallon. I also added the api aquarium salt (2 tablespoons). There is also an automatic heater in the tank.