New to the hobby!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jbrfish

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello !,
I'm new at this hobby and I want to keep freshwater tropical fish first and eventually move onto saltwater, but I am trying to decide on an aquarium tank thats easy to maintain I found this website.
Marineland Eclipse 12 Aquarium Review | Any opinions on this tank by Marineland Eclipse 12? :fish2:

Hello !,
I'm new at this hobby and I want to keep freshwater tropical fish first and eventually move onto saltwater, but I am trying to decide on an aquarium tank thats easy to maintain I found this website.
Marineland Eclipse 12 Aquarium Review | Any opinions on this tank by Marineland Eclipse 12? :fish2:

that tank is around 20 gallons, which is a good starting tank size for beginners.
It's a good size to learn about fishkeeping, but also a little forgiving if you make a mistake.

Before you start, I recommend you read the links about cycling a new aquarium. This is basically where you establish a small eco-system in your tank to support your fish.

The next step will be stocking your aquarium and fish compatability. But lets take it one step at a time :)

Good luck and feel free to ask questions along the way.

:welcome: to AA! :)
Hello !,

Before you do anything, read this!
The (almost) Complete Guide and FAQ to Fishless Cycling
Most important thing that your fish will ever want you to read :)

I generally don't like the pre-package deals, generally because the equipment that comes with it is not the best. Personally, I like to get the tank, and then choose the supplies I want for it. In that size of a tank, a good filter would be an AquaClear, very customizable for an HOB and super quiet (compared to other HOB-hang on back-filters). Heaters also vary as well, I like Aquaeons.