New to this... Need suggestions for stocking fish...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Robersonj

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello! I am new to this aquarium stuff, and I downloaded this forum app trying to learn more. We recently (about a week and a half ago) purchased a 20 gallon MarineLand kit tank. It came with everything except an air pump.

Here is what we have done so far:

1. We bought the tank and also got some fish the same day. I know we aren't supposed to do that, but our 3 year old was begging for some fish, so we asked the person at the pet store if there were certain fish that could survive the cycle. He recommended some black tetra, so we got two of them. Went home, set the tank up quick and added the fish. That night, one of our fish died, which was probably our fault, and I feel bad. Lesson learned. Won't add fish right away next time. Second tetra lived and is still swimming around.

2. We took a couple water samples to the store. All levels except PH were fine. We purchased 5 goldfish to help with the rest of the cycle. We are giving these fish to my nephew. The same day we also bought a couple ammonia monitors that were on clearance and Tetra Smart Start, which I had seen rave reviews for on most of the other forums out there, and the reviews on websites were the same. We had also purchased the API liquid water testing kit from Amazon for $16.00. I have made sure to test the water frequently.

3. after the API kit came in, we tested the water. Ammonia, nitrite, and nitrate levels were fine, but the PH was still high. It had been a few days after adding the goldfish. We purchased an albino Cory catfish and a dwarf fire gourami. We also bought PH stuff by API, and that has helped the PH start to come down.