newbie 20g

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Sberk

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I am fairly new to having an aquarium. I had fish growing up but this will be my first tank in about 10 years.

I am getting a 20g tank and am trying to decide what to stock it with.

Here is what I am thinking:

1 Bristlenose pleco
1 Blue ram
possibly one angelfish
3-5 tiger barbs or neon tetras

I am also wanting to add a figure 8 puffer about a month after the initial fish. I am hoping this might curb it's hostility towards the others.

Any thought's or other stocking ideas are welcome.

Don't forget to cycle! :)

I'm not sure how an angel would do in a 20g. IIRC they prefer bigger tanks.

Is it a 20 long or high? (Long is probably a better choice.)

I am not sure if it is long or tall. I am getting one for free from my parents who have 2 20g. I may even have a choice between long or tall.

Would a female betta do ok instead of an angel?

Be sure to cycle before adding fish. There's a page on here somewhere called Fishless Cycling. It's definitely worth the time and effort.

I modified your stock list a little. Here's what I'd go with to start. You should be able to add more fish after the tank is established.

1 Bristlenose pleco
1 Blue ram
1 Female betta
5 neon tetras - barbs like to nip fins

Thanks!

Any input on the F8 puffer?

Any other suggestions on schooling fish other than neons?

I would really like a "showcase" fish which is why I was looking at the F8. Do you think a dwarf puffer or 2 would be ok or should I avoid puffers altogether?

Any suggestions on a different "showcase" fish?

Avoid puffers all together. They're mainly brackish water fish and they have bad attitudes.