Newbie here

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Archtrain

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Getting a new aquarium for Christmas and I am a bit outdated as far as setting it up. I'll start with the basics. It's a 60 gallon rectangular/high profile. It only comes with the tank ,stand, hood w light. I know I'll need other hardware,just not sure what exactly. I plan on doing a freshwater thing and it's been awhile since I had an aquarium. Last one I had was about 40 years ago and it was a 10 gallon starter, so obviously I've been out of the game for a bit. Heater(s),circulation pump? Filtration? Etc, and anything else I might have left out.... I'll need advice on all of the ecoutrements. Any advice most appreciated, thank you

Last edited:
Welcome :)

Times have changed and fancy equipment makes things much easier nowadays.

Not sure if you remember since them but cycling a tank is essential. you can choose to cycle with or without fish. I'm lazy and don't want to do water changes daily so I prefer to cycle without fish.

I run 2 filters on my tanks just in case 1 were to fail. Aquaclear is widely accepted on here as one of the best HOB filters on the market.

I prefer aquatop heaters myself. They are cheap and so far reliable for me. Not had one fail yet.

I'm biased to sand and plants :) I find it much more attractive than rainbow gravel. There is plenty of easy low light plants if you wanted to give them a shot. Anubias for one, it's near indestructible, if you killed it, something is really wrong with the tank haha.

Caleb

The only things you NEED are a filter (so that the ammonia produced by the fish can complete the nitrogen cycle) and a heater (to keep the tank water around 75º... and depending upon your climate and setup, you might not require a heater).