newbie looking for opinions on everything

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

GlubGlub

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I'm a sort of newbie to the fish world looking for some feedback and discussion while waiting for my tank to fish-less cycle. My wife and I have just bought our first fish tank (not counting standard childhood fish experiences.) I do have a little experience though in that I cared for some corals in a research lab in undergrad years back. We both know our biology and chemistry.

Anyways, it's a 29 gallon tank, that is currently working on it's fish-less cycle. No problems with that as I've been doing lots of research before getting started, but I'm tumbling around a lot of ideas in my head for what to stock with eventually. I'm trying to plan things out in advance so that we fill the tank up in a good order, some of these fish we'll hold off on stocking for months while the tank gets established, but we want to reserve room for them and plan around them.

Other relevant non fish facts:
Tap water: 8.0pH, 0.5 ppm NH3, 0 ppm NO2-, 5 ppm NO3- (API Master)
I'm assuming the ammonia reading is coming from chloramines.
Tank is lightly planted. 1 Anubias, 1 Java Fern, 1 Red Melon Sword, 1 C. parva, 2 C. wendtii, 1 C. spiralis, bunch of elodea that's not doing well (I've got talent! - probably too warm) and will likely be replaced.
Gravel substrate, root tabs, weekly Flourish (regular)
17W T8 light - could be convinced to up this, but I don't want to mess with CO2 injection at this point
Sitting in a corner so that two sides are easily visible