Newbie - Questions regarding PWC/Filters/Why not just grab pond water?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

CoolHand

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I am completely new to aquatic ventures with fish, other then filleting and eating them ;-) and have a couple of questions (for clarification)

- I am just in the process of cycling the tank but had was semi confused about partial water changes. When I do these should I de chlorinate the new water before adding it to the tank?
- When I do get fish and do pwc should I try and match the water temp of the new water before I add it? (again - I assume I will need to de chlorinate new water each and every time i add it? Can I just use water from the dehumidifier?
- When I "clean" the filter I take it I just brush it and move it around in old tank water? What if I need a new filter? Do I let the new one sit in old tank water for a day or two?
- Why can't I just grab pond water?

Anyhow, any help would be great! I got started in this business because my 4 year old son caught a turtle and I bought and aquarium so we could keep it at home for a few days... I let the turtle go and thought why not get some fish? I have new realized I have entered a new realm and am getting sucked into this immense world of water... and the tank I bought was a 5 gallon starter one but I'm already wishing I got a 20g or something...

Cheers,

CH...

I am completely new to aquatic ventures with fish, other then filleting and eating them ;-) and have a couple of questions (for clarification)

- I am just in the process of cycling the tank but had was semi confused about partial water changes. When I do these should I de chlorinate the new water before adding it to the tank?