Newbie questions suggestions etc.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Renn1206

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi everyone my name is renn im new to AA lol. I just got a 55gal with filters hood n lights came with gravel but i changed to play sand. My fish seem to like it a bit and so do i. Currently in the tank:
1 bala shark
3 red tail black shark
2 tiger barb
2 albino tiger barbs
2 red tail tinfoil barb
1 striped raphael
2 plecos
2 cichlids
1 angel fish
1 dwarf frog
1 blue mystery snail
1 betta

I know i have a pretty wild variety but they are all babies so i figured they would grow on one another. The betta i had on his own n put him in the big tank to see how he did n he seems to love it!! If u look at my pictures u can see a couple of them and one of my whole tank. I would greatly appreciate any suggestions or advice

Welcome to AA!

IMO, massive stocking issues:

1 bala shark - Bala sharks get huge, a foot or more, and are schooling fish so need a group of five or more - rehome/return

3 red tail black shark - These guys don't like themselves and will soon get very aggressive towards each other - rehome/return two of them

2 tiger barb, 2 albino tiger barbs - Known fin nippers and can be quite aggressive when kept in small groups such as this. Not recommended with the Angelfish or the Betta because they will nip their fins to shreds.

2 red tail tinfoil barb - Another schooling fish that may become aggressive if kept in numbers less than five.

1 striped raphael - A cool fish that can get up to seven inches. I don't think they are schooling fish but if I recall they prefer a buddy to hang out with so two might be better.

2 plecos - What kind of Pleco? Very important to know.

2 cichlids - What kind of Cichlid? Very important to know.

1 angel fish - In danger of attacks from the Barbs and the Betta.