newbie with a 10 gal, 50 gal and lots of questions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

norcalg

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hi all,
I’m an enthusiastic newbie. It all started with an ill-fated fair goldfish. It died. My son bought a used 10 gal kit at the flea market and we set it up to cycle with 3 danios. I decided that looked like fun but I wanted more, more, MORE! fish. Ahem. So I bought a 50 gallon “system” off craiglist. Now, I am horribly intimidated by it and unsure what to do next. I’ve done some reading, (wow, great info here!) but wasn’t reaching any sort of conclusion.

What we have:
10 gallon:
3 zebra? spotted? longfin danios, cycling for 1 month on Aug 24. We were told by our LFS on Aug 22 that we’re still cycling and to not do any water changes and test again in a week. I will be buying a test kit this weekend. No strips, I promise.
1 snail
artificial plants
floating water hyacinths, not doing well
rocks and gravel substrate
heater/thermometer

What we want:
easy, community tank
6 platies/moonfish
1 golden algae eater
shrimp?

We also have, courtesy of craigslist:
50 gallon (48” long) glass tank
undergravel filter
penguin bio wheel 170
azoo 9500 air pump
2 lids w/lights
assorted artificial plants
used gravel substrate
assorted cotton and charcoal and some sort of filter that I’m unsure of where it goes.

What I want:
easy, active, planted community tank.
Gouramies
Cory Cats
Rainbows or tetras or danios?
Pleco(s)
Loaches?
shrimp?

What I think are my biggest questions:
Cycling: Can I re-”cycle” with the danios if I decide to do a with-fish cycle in the 50 gallon and the 10 gallon is all cycled? Or is that just too much on the little guys? Would it make more sense to do a non-fish cycle and use some of the substrate and stuff from the 10 gallon to seed the 50 gallon?