Next up.... what to Stock???

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

carlosk

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi all....

So, I seem to have completed my fishless cycle. I'm going to keep an eye on the parameters and changes over the next couple of days after I spike with ammonia, but I'm sure I'm completed. Just double checking and being careful about it all...

Ok, so my next headache... is a good one I guess... is what to stock? I have a 180L Juwel Rio, sand substrate, 2 pieces of boxwood and plenty of plans to plant into the tank when I'm confident to do so.

I suppose what I'm looking for are some recommendations on what to stock and also what would work well / compliment each other in a community tank? I'm not sure I'm a fan of Cichlids, but being a complete novice... I could be proven wrong. I always liked the idea of a Betta being in there, but I don't want any aggro taking place or arriving home to a stock who look like they've been in the wars while I've been away.

Any ideas or recommendations would be appreciated...

Thanks all... it starts here !!!

Too open ended. We need something to go off of. I can say that I am not really a cichlid fan either, but there are some that are great as far as character and color. Are there any fish that you want? Somewhere to start? We can only do so much without knowing if you are leaning a certain way.

In almost 50 gallon tank it is hard to suggest a stock without specifics, but we can at least try to make an effort. I would say that you have a few standard choices, a community tank or an african cichlid tank. I don't know much about africans, but for a community tank you might want something like this:

3 schools of 6-10 fish each
1 or two centerpiece fish.