Nitrites are 5.0 with fish in tank what to do

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Megagalvatron1

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello I’m new to the forms here. I joined because I have a lot of problems with my tank and I don’t know what to do. Of course going to Petsmart and Petco I get many different answers and going online I get more confused than when I started. I’ll try to get as much information as I can so hopefully I can get some help to get this tank fixed. I really don’t wanna lose my fish or frog.
This is my first aquarium I’ve ever personally had to take care of. I grew up in a house with a lot of aquariums but never really did any of the work. My children wanted to buy a beta fish so they bought it and put it in a 1 gallon filtered tank. I made sure I purchased beta water and filled the tank up with that. They also bought a Pleco which at the time I did not know would grow as big as it would, that has since been taken to Petco and donated and somebody else has purchased it. They put a bunch of algae wafers in the tank which then caused the tank to turn gray so I knew I had to do something immediately. I made sure The beta didn’t move around or Swim it just laid on the bottom so after some research I went ahead and got him a 5.5 gallon tank (two weeks ago yesterday). I put a heater in it kept at 78°, some silk plants, 3 moss balls And some other fish. I honestly never knew anything about cycling a tank or anything like that I went to Petsmart and bought water that said it was pre-treated and that came with beneficial bacteria and said I could then start the immediately once I fill the tank with that. I had three shrimp and African dwarf frog and a beta.