Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-11-2013, 09:14 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
AlexandraDanielle21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 104
No Nitrates?

Hello all. About a month and a half ago I finished my first cycle and added fish.
Nitrites-0
Ammonia-0
Nitrates-20ppm

I've had my pair of mollies, pair of platys and guppy for all this time, with no problems. A few days ago I added one dwarf frog, and after checking my water parameters today I found that my nitrates are no longer there?
Ammonia-0
Nitrites-0
Nitrates-0ppm?

I use a liquid test for ammonia and strips for NO2 and NO3. I know that strips aren't as accurate, but even if they were incorrect before there is no reason for them to be changing, right? Any ideas on why this happened would be appreciated.

Side note: My water also clouded up a few days ago. Could this be connected? I used API Aqu-Clear but it didn't work.
Thanks
__________________

__________________
AlexandraDanielle21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2013, 09:40 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 132
Do you have a lot of real plants?

The nitrate test is notorious for showing 0 if you don't shake the ever living piss out of the #2 bottle. I like to bang mine on a hard surface several times and then shake it for the 30seconds.

If it still shows 0 after a very vigorous shaking report back

Also make sure the bottle hasn't gone past the expiration date
__________________

__________________
93MSB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2013, 09:43 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
AlexandraDanielle21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by 93MSB View Post
Do you have a lot of real plants?

The nitrate test is notorious for showing 0 if you don't shake the ever living piss out of the #2 bottle. I like to bang mine on a hard surface several times and then shake it for the 30seconds.

If it still shows 0 after a very vigorous shaking report back
I don't have any real plants yet, but I have some fake ones and decorations. I am going to add some low-light ones soon, I just wanted to fix this first
__________________
AlexandraDanielle21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
nitrates

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.