Noob here, pre-planning a 55 gal. guppy tank... Advice?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

KlcoKN

Aquarium Advice Activist
I'm hoping for some help so I don't make too many mistakes
I'm going to be getting a 55 gallon tank for breeding guppies, I don't have the tank or anything yet, complete new slate... :blink:
I am planning on doing a fishless cycle, will be getting a complete water testing kit (which do you recommend?), I would like to have live low light plants that can deal with slightly salted waters (I'm thinking java moss, marimo "moss" balls, water sprite, some type of pygmy sword, cabomba?).
I do not know which substrate would be better, sand or gravel?
I would like tank mates (ghost shrimp? corys? how many?) and I'm planning on starting out with 3 male guppies and 9 females.
Any advice, tips, recommendations, would be greatly appreciated! (y)

It sounds like you've done a good amount of research. Good for you! I recommend the API Master test kit. Some lowlight plants like anachris, hornwort, anubias, moneywort, and wisteria would be good. But I don't know about with any salt. Hopefully someone with experience will chime in. Sand or gravel is a matter of taste. Some say sand is easier to clean, but you have to make sure it stays out of your filter. Cories and guppies would get along great, but again, don't know about the salt.
Good luck!