Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-20-2006, 02:43 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
2cvbloke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Lancashire, UK
Posts: 502
Not so new, and not so huge tank that I may set up...

It's 18" x 9.75" x 10" (Width, depth, Height), so it's not that big, I've been replacing the light with a standard BC socket so I can put in a Fluorescent Energy Saving bulb (like THIS one) instead of the old 15watt Incandescent oven light type bulb that had been fitted by a "professional" aquarium distributor...

Anyway, the equipment with it is an Air pump, 2x airstones (one large, one small), Python vacuum thing, the lid (obviously), a heater (up to 30 degrees celcius, I don't do farenheit!!) and a tray-like something that sits on the bottom with a tube sticking up, which I have no idea what it does (I'll get a picture shortly)...

So, any ideas as to what the gallonage is and what you think I should put in there once it's cycled? Also, should I get a filter for this tank rather than just the air pump?

EDIT:
Picture of the thingy added...
__________________

__________________
2cvbloke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2006, 03:31 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
verucaproduce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 594
Sounds like 7.5 gallons or so. Your tray is actually an under gravel filter. Most would recommend getting rid of it and getting an hob (hang on back) filter.

If you list your preferences on stocking maybe we can help you along on what would or wouldn't work and the numbers. You will be limited because as you said, the tank isn't very large.
__________________

__________________

verucaproduce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2006, 03:40 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Cedar City, UT
Posts: 425
Send a message via MSN to ringfinger
The plastic tray is some sort of under gravel filter. I wouldn't use it though. They require periodic cleaning that is a major pain to accomplish since the filter sits underneath your gravel. I would just toss it and get a small HOB filter. This would also make your air pump unnecessary since the HOB filter would splash enough to provide oxygen. Then again you could still keep the air pump if you like the look of the little bubbles. Your heater is plenty good. Good light choice.

You have about 7.5 gallons there, so I would recommend maybe a Betta and a couple bottom feeders. Not sure what you have available in the UK.
__________________
ringfinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2006, 03:41 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
2cvbloke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Lancashire, UK
Posts: 502
So I was right (well, discussing it with my mum at least) that I may as well chuck that tray and get a proper filter...

Well, as it may become my tank I want to get some Neons cos their colours are amazing when looking at them in the shop, but as always I'm open to other types, but, I'm definitely having a weather loach!!!

EDIT:
Is THIS filter OK in your opinion?
__________________
2cvbloke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2006, 11:01 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
verucaproduce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 594
You will definitely want to cycle your tank before you add fish.

That filter looks fine to me. I have an internal on my 5.5 and it works great.

You may want to rethink the neons. They are known to be pretty sensitive, especially in a tank that is newly cycled.
__________________

verucaproduce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2006, 02:50 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
2cvbloke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Lancashire, UK
Posts: 502
Quote:
Originally Posted by verucaproduce
You will definitely want to cycle your tank before you add fish.

That filter looks fine to me. I have an internal on my 5.5 and it works great.

You may want to rethink the neons. They are known to be pretty sensitive, especially in a tank that is newly cycled.
Well, cycling's the first thing I am going to do, borrowing the filter sponge from my mum's tank for the biological stuff, then giving it a month to get going, just need to get one of them filters now and a testing kit...

So neons are not a good idea initially then? Ah well, must have a weather loach though, they're brilliant fish, very entertaining...
__________________
2cvbloke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2006, 03:58 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
verucaproduce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 594
If you seed that tank with your mother's filter sponge, I doubt that it will take a whole month to cycle.

Neons are known to be very sensitive (I have never kept them) and I have read where people put them into cycled tanks after acclimating and they drop like flies. You might be better off to go with something a little sturdier...at least while the tank is newly set up. Anything else that you are interested in?
__________________

verucaproduce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2006, 04:07 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
2cvbloke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Lancashire, UK
Posts: 502
Quote:
Originally Posted by verucaproduce
If you seed that tank with your mother's filter sponge, I doubt that it will take a whole month to cycle.

Neons are known to be very sensitive (I have never kept them) and I have read where people put them into cycled tanks after acclimating and they drop like flies. You might be better off to go with something a little sturdier...at least while the tank is newly set up. Anything else that you are interested in?
Even better, but I'll guesstimate at a month for now though...

I definitely want a weather loach or two, as I'm sure everyone knows by now, but I haven't really looked at any other fish that won't look too big for this tank, maybe a Pleco, the pet shop I went to had plenty of little ones, but the loach they had in the same tank was about 5 or 6 inches long!!!

But I'll pop into that shop again and I'll take my digital camera and get a few snaps of the fish they have...
__________________
2cvbloke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2006, 04:15 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
verucaproduce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 594
I can't think of a pleco that will stay small enough for your tank. I don't know anything about weather loaches. Maybe some otos? Although they do better in established tanks, or at least old enough to have diatoms.

Definitely get some pics. That could be fun!
__________________

verucaproduce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2006, 04:30 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
2cvbloke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Lancashire, UK
Posts: 502
Quote:
Originally Posted by verucaproduce
I can't think of a pleco that will stay small enough for your tank. I don't know anything about weather loaches. Maybe some otos? Although they do better in established tanks, or at least old enough to have diatoms.

Definitely get some pics. That could be fun!
My mum's pleco has been in her tank since march and it's barely grown a few millimeters, so I'm guessing that some may stay a certain size according to the tank's size...

That pet shop has a good selection of fish to look at, I think some are tropical and maybe some saltwater, but I'll get some pics, and I can give the pics to my boss's at work for them to pic fish for their huge tank once it's set up and cycled...
__________________
2cvbloke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2006, 04:39 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Yarmouth, Nova Scotia
Posts: 46
A full grown pleco can measure anywhere from 15 to 24 inches in length and can live up to 20 years. It's a misconception that they will not outgrow a tank, because they will.

They generally create more waste than they're worth.
__________________
Cheers,
Jake
Nokinja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2006, 04:59 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
2cvbloke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Lancashire, UK
Posts: 502
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nokinja
A full grown pleco can measure anywhere from 15 to 24 inches in length and can live up to 20 years. It's a misconception that they will not outgrow a tank, because they will.

They generally create more waste than they're worth.
Can't wait to see my mum's get that big then...

Just looking at my mum's weather loach at the moment and it's secured itself between the thermometer and the tank glass and it looking rather comfy there, I guess it does that cos they like burying themselves in sand and fine gravel/substrate, he's a funny little critter...

But anyway, I've got plenty of time to decide on what I want to get, there's no rush, I have to clear a space for the tank at home, but that won't be too difficult as my poor hamster was killed by fleas, he wasn't even a year old, so I can remove his old cage and pop a tank there instead, and I don't want to rush into getting it all set up as rushing always ends up with mistakes, plus I need to give the tank a leak test as it's not been used in a while, at least I can use my cellar though as that's always getting flooded so any spilling water wouldn't look out of place...
__________________
2cvbloke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2006, 05:39 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
verucaproduce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 594
Quote:
Can't wait to see my mum's get that big then...
That is just the thing, it probably won't. But since it growth has been stunted it compromises its health.

I am not saying that all plecos get huge. Some stay smaller. But they are usually hard to find and can be expensive. In a 7 gallon tank you want to limit your waste and they sure like to produce waste.

Quote:
as my poor hamster was killed by fleas
OUCH!
__________________

verucaproduce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2006, 05:27 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
2cvbloke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Lancashire, UK
Posts: 502
Well, got my mini-filter today, and it is very compact...

I was just thinking, if I sat it in my mum's tank for a week or two filtering and stuff, would that make cycling a lot easier for me?

Anyway, here's a pic of my new filter (and my laptop on my lap!!! ),and yes, that's what a British plug looks like...
__________________
2cvbloke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2006, 06:09 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
rich311k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 12,189
Send a message via Yahoo to rich311k
Yes running the filter on your mom's tank will help seed the filter and make your cycle much quicker. Neet looking little thing.
__________________
From where the sun now stands, I will fight no more forever.
rich311k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2006, 09:26 AM   #16
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
verucaproduce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 594
Quote:
and yes, that's what a British plug looks like...
Ah, you crazy British folks.
__________________

verucaproduce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2006, 03:37 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
2cvbloke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Lancashire, UK
Posts: 502
Quote:
Originally Posted by verucaproduce
Ah, you crazy British folks.
Our earth pin is ath the top of the plug.... :P

And we have to use 3 pin plugs for everything as the earth pin socket has a safty feature in it to prevent kids poking their fingers into the ...

Anyways, just about to pop the filter into my mum's tank to get it seeded so it's ready for my tank, just one question, how long should I leave it in my mum's tank for?
__________________
2cvbloke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2006, 03:55 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
rich311k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 12,189
Send a message via Yahoo to rich311k
The longer the better. A month and it should be fully seeded.
__________________
From where the sun now stands, I will fight no more forever.
rich311k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2006, 04:28 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
2cvbloke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Lancashire, UK
Posts: 502
Well, it's in and on, gas mark five and give it 31 days to cook up some bacteria....
__________________
2cvbloke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2006, 04:08 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
2cvbloke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Lancashire, UK
Posts: 502
Just showing you a pic of the new filter in my mum's tank...

Oh, and a game, spot Mr. Loach....
__________________

__________________
2cvbloke is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
set up, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
my HUGE tank project ;) exodon king DIY Projects 37 10-13-2009 01:00 PM
Huge tank is leaking Speakerman Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 34 07-05-2006 03:06 AM
New huge set up for me!! Many general questions!! SpaceButler Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 8 01-08-2005 04:34 PM
Huge new basement tank!?!?! sumphead Aquaria Off-Topic 14 04-07-2004 07:01 AM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×