NOVICE NEEDS YODA (Let's start with Filters)

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

curtanyc

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I'm new to it all and think I got took. I spent close to $300.00 at my local pet shop and have a 10 gallon tank with a Lee's economy filter and 5 goldfish- 1 ryunkin, 1 black moor and 3 orandas. What research I've done makes me think It's already overcrowded in there. They talked me into a common pleco too, but I took him back when I found out how big he would get. I thought I'd start by upgrading the filter and stopped by Petco today to look at some clip on power filters. Advice? How do I go about switching from one type of filter to another? Should I even try? Please don't tell me to cut my losses, I'm already in love with my babies and am already noticing their different personalities.

I'm new at this too but I'm pretty sure the others will tell you that 5 goldfish in a 10 gallon is overstocked. I guess goldfish have a really large bio-load and I'm pretty sure the fish experts here will tell you to return some. 300$ sounds like a lot for a 10 gallon tank. But you live and learn right? Good luck with your new babies! :)

Hang on...what all did you get for 300$$??? I can go to walmart right now and buy a 10gal tank for 12$. You can buy a topfin 55gal starter kit at petsmart for 180$ or even buy a 75g tank with a decent filter for that much if you shop smart? Im not criticizing but curous because that is a ripoff unless the fish were really expensive (i dont know goldfish i dont particularly care for them). And yes you are overcrowded-goldfish get big and are messy and will take a huge hit on your bioload, especially since ive got the feeling you didnt cycle. Start doing pwc's every day to keep it down.