Novice wants to start small tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jazz1180

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi everyone,

This is my first time visiting the site and there is so much info!

Anyway, I want to start up a small (10-15 gallon) freshwater tank. I live with a fish aficionado but I am determined to do this by myself! Having said that I need to know where to begin.

1)What basic equipment do I need?
2)What types of fish will be appropriate for this size tank and how many?
3)Any start up advice you can give!

Thanks. I look forward to hearing back from everyone!

Basic Equipment: Tank, Stand, Hood, Light, Filter, Heater, Net, Dechlorinator, Gravel vac, Liquid Reagent Test Kit.

Your options are limited to small fish, but that doesn't mean it's a problem. You could have (not at the same time) Tetras, Guppies, Betta, snails, shrimp, a few cories, minnows. Lets just say you have options, but what are you interested in?

Startup advice? Go big. LOL Start with the biggest tank you can afford. The bigger it is, the easier it is to maintain. Cycle before you add fish. You will cause yourself less headaches this way. Purchase liquid reagent test kits. NEVER the strips. They are expensive and not as accurate. My biggest piece of advice: Don't trust the lfs. They will try to sell you everything they have on their shelves THEN some. And when their meds/products don't work, you'll end up 3 steps back from where you started. Water changes can clear up ALOT of stuff.

I would at least start with a 20gal, ideal would be a 29 gal but; its understandable that some people dont have the room or money. Good luck with whatever you decide on.