Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-27-2011, 07:37 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 143
thanks eco...so um.....my tank is still technically cycled?
__________________

__________________
shynepo3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2011, 07:47 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
eco23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 6,314
Quote:
Originally Posted by shynepo3
thanks eco...so um.....my tank is still technically cycled?
TBH, I don't have the information to give you a definitive yes or no. Was the tank cycled previously before the changes? If so, since you kept the media wet there's no way you'd be starting at the beginning. At worst, you'd have a mini-cycle while the tank stabilizes.

The absence of nitrAtes in an unplanted tank is definitely puzzling, but since no3 is the end result of the nitrogen cycle (in an aquarium at least), the lower the ammonia output, the slower the nitrAte will build up. I'd simply test your ammo and no2 every day, do a pwc if they climb above .25, and ride it out until the tank proves stable.
__________________

__________________
The (almost) Complete Guide and FAQ to Fishless Cycling
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...ng-148283.html
Being responsible...fishless cycling defines it, fish-in requires it. Choose wisely.
eco23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2011, 07:53 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 143
ok...will do...this sucks, i should haven't bothered with changing the gravel..

yes, the tank was cycled prior, with readings of 0,0 and 5ppm of nitrates.
__________________
shynepo3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2011, 07:54 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
eco23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 6,314
Quote:
Originally Posted by shynepo3
ok...will do...this sucks, i should haven't bothered with changing the gravel..

yes, the tank was cycled prior, with readings of 0,0 and 5ppm of nitrates.
Honestly I think you're good to go. Just keep an eye on things for a while .
__________________
The (almost) Complete Guide and FAQ to Fishless Cycling
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...ng-148283.html
Being responsible...fishless cycling defines it, fish-in requires it. Choose wisely.
eco23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2011, 08:06 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 143
i'll do...thanks for the words of encouragement
__________________
shynepo3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2011, 11:40 PM   #16
AA Team Emeritus
 
jsoong's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Edmonton, Canada
Posts: 4,222
Agree with the assessment provided. 0,0,0 is good. Since you have changed out everything, all the nitrates is gone. It is going to take a week or 2 for it to build up. Although the presence of nitrates indicates a cycled tank, you don't need it (unless you are growing plants.) If your NH3 & NO2 stays zero, your tank is retaining the cycle. With a single betta, it is going to take days to see any rise, if at all. So you just have to be patient, test everyday for the next week or so, and you will have your answer.

Meanwhile, it is OK to do pwc. It is not going to harm anything. Although pwc will dilute out any buildup of waste so you will have longer to wait for your result (of whether the tank retained its cycle or not).
__________________
80 gal FW with 30 gal DIY wet/dry/sump.
9 fancy golds, 1 hillstream loaches, 1 rubber-lip pleco (C. thomasi), 3 SAEs, small school of white cloud minnows, planted.
jsoong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 09:54 AM   #17
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 143
Thanks jsoong.'his fin rot doesn't seem to be getting
Better,'not worse either, so I'll be doing daily pwc. I'm under the assumption that if the tank is still cycled,'it won't affect it. It'll just
Take longer for nitrates
To register
__________________

__________________
shynepo3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ammonia, cycle, cycled, led, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Log for cycling my new tank. zparticle Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 146 07-13-2011 03:34 PM
upgrading tank? mollymama Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 3 06-26-2011 08:13 PM
Keep your qt tank cycled? JustinKScott Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 06-26-2011 08:00 PM
Ammonia problem Scottishnewbie Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 13 06-25-2011 02:18 PM
Is my tank cycled? Aqua315 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 06-24-2011 07:30 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.