Ooops

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

aquafreak

Aquarium Advice Freak
Hi.

I'm new to the whole aquarium gig so I wondered if someone could answer a few good questions.

1) I used a mild detergent to clean my aquarium pieces, and "rinsed them throughly" before their entry into the aquarium. How high is the risk of killing any fish once they are introduced? I've treated the water with neutralizer/chlorine balancer.

2) It is recommended to wait 6 weeks before adding in 'live' aquatic plants. I've already introduced mine (there are no fish yet). Do I need to remove it or should I let the Nitrogen Process Cycle normally?

3) Now that I have started the tank and it's 2 to 3 week preparation (Nitrogen Cycle), the water is very slightly cloudy. I have added the Right Start Neutralizer, also Stress Zyme, and 1 small live plant. Did I do anything wrong? Will the cloudy water clear itself naturally? Is it a bacterial bloom or a chemical inbalance?

ANY ADVICE IS IMMENSELY APPRECIATED :) Thanks in advance.

What do you have in the tank as a source of ammonia? It sounds like you are trying to cycle fish-less, but to do that you need to add ammonia, either from decomposing food or pure ammonia solution.

here is a good article on the 'cycle' in general. Here is another.

This article is a good one on fish-less cycling

Read, read, read is not always the most welcome advice, but IMHO it is the best. Good Luck and keep us updated :)

Detergent and aquariums are a bad mix. What kind of decorations? In the future I would suggest you wash anything like that with non iodized salt.

So, to non-fish Cycle normally, I need to first add in Ammonia, then Stress Zyme, and let the process settle over 3 weeks?