Ph level too high in new tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

The2hesslers

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello everyone,

I am new to the fish tank world so if some of the questions I ask are totally ignorant please excuse me lol. Ok so here's the problem, my husband and I bought a brand new 30 gallon bow front fish tank. We filled the tank up, added easy balance and stress + Zyme solution. We have the heater set at 74 degrees, a pump running and 2 bubble rocks in the back. We also have 1 big decoration, 3 small one, 4 fake plants and red gravel. We washed everything prior to placing it in the tank. We let the tank sit for 48+ hours and then took a sample to a local aquarium shop. When they tested it the PH was 8.2 so they advised we replace 20 gallons with water that they had there that already had the correct PH bc where we live, the city water is very high in PH. So we did this about 30 hours ago and when we replaced the 20 gallons last night we tested it and the level was all the way down to 7.4. Well we went to get the fish today and finally put them in and we tested the tank before we left and it was back up to 8.2, tested it 2 hours later I got 4 different results! The highest test was 8.6. I took 2 samples from the top of the water and 2 samples from deeper in the tank. I called the aquarium shop that has been helping us and she said to wait until about Tuesday and bring her a sample again. Oh, the water has also started to have a greenish color to it. This is my 1st tank ever and my husband has had some in the past but does not know much about them. Also we have turned the heater all the way down and we have not had the light on for over 24 hours and when we did have the light on it was only for a couple of hours here and there. Please help!! We just want some fish in this tank! It is a fresh water tank! Thanks for reading:)