Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-30-2012, 07:29 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
DanS180's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Blackwood, NJ
Posts: 3,346
Post-Cycle Stall??

Okay, im a little confused as to what my tank is doing right now. Not making any sense to me. On 6/21 my tank was fully cycled(started Fish-in cycle on 6/2).

Since 6/21 my ammonia & nitrite have been 0ppm. Since then my Ammonia has always been 0, same with my Nitrites. Nitrates have floated from 40ppm down to 5ppm.(with PWC)


Then my ammonia bounced up a few days later to .25ppm and Nitrates were at 5ppm. I assumed the ammonia was a false reading from the Tap water conditioner so i let it be. 2 days later my Ammonia was at .50ppm and my Nitrates magically disappeared. So i did a 50%WC and tested later that night.


My ammonia was at 0-.25ppm and Nitrates were at 0-5ppm. Nitrites 0ppm. Following day everything was at 0ppm except Nitrates (0-5ppm).


For the next 2 days thats how the numbers stayed, until yesterday I vacuumed the sand and did a 60% WC. Now my numbers are all 0ppm. Im not getting a reading on anything. Tested twice since the PWC(once after refilling last night and once after i got home today from work at 5.


Can anyone tell me why i have no Nitrates now when at one point i had 40ppm?? I thought i was on top of things and everything was running smoothly but apparently not. HELPP!!!!!!

API Master Test Kit is brand new, doesnt expire til 2017!!!
__________________

__________________
DanS180 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2012, 08:02 PM   #2
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
 
mfdrookie516's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ky
Posts: 19,409
No nitrates isn't a bad thing. IF you can keep them undetectable, great. As long as you're getting 0 on ammonia and nitrate, and staying within a reasonable range on nitrate (less than 40ppm for the majority of fish), you're fine. Only exception is if you are keeping a planted tank, and you'll want some nitrate then.
__________________

__________________
-Jonathan

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2012, 08:14 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
DanS180's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Blackwood, NJ
Posts: 3,346
I am keeping live plants in there lol figures, i thought my plants may have been sucking up the Nitrates possibly??
__________________
DanS180 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 11:28 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
DanS180's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Blackwood, NJ
Posts: 3,346
Will no nitrates kill the live plants??
__________________
DanS180 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 07:07 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
DanS180's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Blackwood, NJ
Posts: 3,346
Yes? No? Lol
__________________
DanS180 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 12:08 AM   #6
jlk
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jlk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: philadelphia suburbs
Posts: 11,119
I am not a plant expert but you do need a food source for your plants. I do know very low/zero nitrate planted tanks are dosed with some degree of nitrates. I would ask in the planted section for more specific advice.
__________________
jlk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 12:22 AM   #7
come get me tang police!
 
jetajockey's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: In a swamp near you /Pensacola, FL
Posts: 12,047
That's correct. If the plants are utilizing the nitrates faster than the fish produce them then it may be worthwhile to dose enough kno3 to maintain a low level.
__________________
Dont Forget to Join my FREE weekly Plant Giveaway.
Click Here!
jetajockey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 12:39 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
DanS180's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Blackwood, NJ
Posts: 3,346
Quote:
Originally Posted by jetajockey
That's correct. If the plants are utilizing the nitrates faster than the fish produce them then it may be worthwhile to dose enough kno3 to maintain a low level.
Kno3? I'm new to plants as well so I have no clue what this is lol
__________________
DanS180 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 12:48 AM   #9
come get me tang police!
 
jetajockey's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: In a swamp near you /Pensacola, FL
Posts: 12,047
potassium nitrate
__________________
Dont Forget to Join my FREE weekly Plant Giveaway.
Click Here!
jetajockey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 12:49 AM   #10
jlk
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jlk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: philadelphia suburbs
Posts: 11,119
Potassium nitrate. I have no experience with using this because I have decent amount of nitrate from my tap & messy fish so a lack of nitrates is never an issue. I believe seachem makes a flourish nitrate product, too. But I'm sure there's other options as well. Hopefully, Jeta can point you in the right direction!
__________________
jlk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 01:04 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
DanS180's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Blackwood, NJ
Posts: 3,346
Okay cool guess I'll have to go out and get some of that, any recommended brand??
__________________
DanS180 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 02:30 AM   #12
come get me tang police!
 
jetajockey's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: In a swamp near you /Pensacola, FL
Posts: 12,047
you can order it from one of the fertilizer providers online. I believe spectracide stump remover is pure kno3, but i haven't used it. http://www.spectracide.com/~/media/S...S_DEC0308.ashx
Flourish Nitrogen would work also but with that you'd be paying a good bit for liquid, so it's a lot cheaper to get dry.
__________________
Dont Forget to Join my FREE weekly Plant Giveaway.
Click Here!
jetajockey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 02:58 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
DanS180's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Blackwood, NJ
Posts: 3,346
Okay thanks I'll look into that!
__________________

__________________
DanS180 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycle, stall

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×