Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-01-2004, 11:55 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 351
Send a message via MSN to Kasakato
Problems cycling

have have just started to cycle my 20g tank. I have added 30ml of ammoina but it does not show up on my test kit that shows it in mg/l.

Day 1: NH3=0mg/l Water Conditioner added
Day 2: PH 8 No2=0mg/l Nh3=0mg/l 2 ml of Bio-support added
Day 2: MH3=0 mg/l 3ml ammoina added
__________________

__________________
Kasakato is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2004, 01:37 PM   #2
Moderator Emeritus
 
Menagerie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 13,230
You need to add enough ammonia to get it to read 5ppm. However, I'm not sure how much that would be.
This link will help:
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewto...r=asc&start=20
__________________

__________________

Menagerie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2004, 02:19 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 351
Send a message via MSN to Kasakato
The amount I have added is much more that it should need. I have just did a ammoina test with my Tetra test kit. I put in half aquarium water and half ammoina in the test vile. The thing still said there was zero ammoina! This could be the problem.
__________________
Kasakato is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2004, 02:58 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
An t-iasg's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Criders Corners, PA
Posts: 9,889
Quote:
I put in half aquarium water and half ammoina in the test vile. The thing still said there was zero ammoina!
8O
I've never used a Tetra test kit, but I like the Aquarium Pharmaceuticals (Doc Wellfish) test kits. Get the ammonia test kit with the two test bottles.
__________________







An t-iasg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2004, 03:31 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 351
Send a message via MSN to Kasakato
Ya I am going to get a new kit soon.
__________________
Kasakato is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycling

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Having problems cycling... JasonC Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 16 09-11-2008 10:33 PM
Cycling problems Sahabo Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 11 04-30-2008 01:15 PM
cycling new tank problems mkultra Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 6 02-15-2007 04:10 PM
Cycling problems/questions mattmku Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 33 08-03-2004 08:34 PM
Cycling Problems, please help dinotrex Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 7 04-15-2004 05:12 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×