Question about cycling

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Zjovana

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I've never had tropical fish before. This is my first time. I didn't realize that it is best to do a fishless cycle so now I'm kind of upset that I didn't find this forum sooner. I set up my fish tank on Jan. 2 and I put in water conditioner and this cycle product (Nutrafin Cycle). A week later (Jan. 9) I had my water tested at the pet store and they said I could get fish so I got some. I have a 10 gallon FW tank with 6 neon tetras in it. I am not planning on getting any more fish. I tested the water yesterday and everything was OK except for the ammonia. The ammonia tested at 0.5. I bought the test strips because I didn't know that the liquid testing is better. I will definitely buy that when I run out of the strips. I did a 10% water change yesterday and added 5ml of the cycle stuff to the tank because that's what it says to do on the bottle. I tested the ammonia today and it's still at 0.5. What can I do to make this go down to 0? Should I do another water change today? The fish seem to be ok. They are schooling and eating all the food. I'm very new to this so any advice would be greatly appreciated! Thank you.

Welcome to AA!

0.5 for freshwater is actually pretty good for your cycle. Ususally it spikes much higher than this and for right now I would say you just let you tank keep going for a few days, monitoring fish, ammonia, nitrite, and nitrate levels. If any of them get too high, then a series of 25% water changes would be best. Hopefully your tank is already on the process of getting cycled, since you did wait a week before you added fish which is good! Anyways keep us posted on your tank, good luck and welcome to the hobby.

Does anybody else see a soon to be sufferer of MTS?