Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-18-2004, 11:33 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Oregon USA
Posts: 7
Question about cycling... just starting

Hello-

I am brand new to the hobby and set up a 10 gallon about 5 days ago. I added 3 wagtail platies about 4 days ago to start the cycling. I have been testing for ammonia everyday and am getting readings of 0 each day. No nitrites or nitrates either.

I used Bio-safe to condition the original water and then used Bio-coat when I added the fish. Oh, and I also used two teaspoons of Stress-zyme when I added the water. No other chemicals other than that.

I feed very very small amounts twice daily ( two flakes of Tetramin). I expected to see some of the effects of cycling by now... Is this normal that I would see no ammonia or nitrates?

Thanks for any help.
__________________

__________________
stephenpjenkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2004, 12:56 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Somewhere in the tank
Posts: 528
it is quite possible to not see any ammonia readings yet! What type of test kit are you using(strip or test tube)? I think it will be just a matter of patience!

BTW.....Welcome to AA
__________________

__________________
"Everyone is kneaded out of the same dough but not baked in the same oven."

"Hard work never killed anybody, but why take a chance?"
Edgar Bergen (1903 - 1978)
Keeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2004, 01:03 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Oregon USA
Posts: 7
I am using test tube tests for ammonia and strips for nitrite/nitrate/ph/hardness/alkalinity. I guess I was surprised as so many things you read say that as soon as you add fish, you get ammonia. Here I was all ready to do water changes etc. to keep the fish alive and they seem to be pretty darn happy.

Thanks for the welcome!
__________________
stephenpjenkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2004, 01:22 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 577
tubes and liquid tests are better than the strips, IMO. It'll take a few days. Could take weeks. I applaude your use of test kits though! Way to be prepared!
__________________
That'll do pig, that'll do
medge00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2004, 01:36 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Everett, WA
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to gypsybdancer
If you're only starting out with 2 fish in a 10 gallon tank it may take a while to start cycleing. I used the same chemicals and sea salt, which will be important as the ammonia builds.
I just read that putting some gravel from an established tank will help cycle..anyone try it?
__________________
Don't throw it out untill you make sure it's broken!
gypsybdancer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2004, 01:57 AM   #6
Moderator Emeritus
 
Menagerie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 13,230
Quote:
I just read that putting some gravel from an established tank will help cycle..anyone try it?
Absolutely. If you can use any media from an established tank--gravel, filter squeezings, a fiter pad from established tank in the NEW filter, the bacteria are already present and the cycle will not be as rough on the fish. If there is enough bacteria, there won't be a cycle at all
__________________

__________________

Menagerie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycling, starting

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question: Tank Cycling, Substrate, Starting Over Twoapennything Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 02-02-2010 04:36 AM
Starting up a new tank question dkpate Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 09-26-2009 10:19 AM
Starting a new tank, question about QT. chole88 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 18 07-03-2007 03:27 PM
Starting my 30Gallon aquarium - cycling elliott_001 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 12 12-14-2005 04:48 PM
Cycling starting to happen, questions and pics manooosie Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 8 09-10-2005 10:45 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.