Question about my 30 and 40 Gallon Tanks

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

mikeybabs

Aquarium Advice Freak
Ok so I am just getting into the fish hobby, I am 3.5 weeks into the cycling of my 30 gallon tank. my 40 gallon is already cycled as i got the aquarium used and i brought the original established water with it...

i have 15 fish in my 30 gallon, and i know it's probably overstocked but i want some other opinions,

it has about 5 tiger barbs, 5 albino tetras, and 2 red tetras (im not sure if the tetra names are correct), 1 skinny tetra that im unsure of the name, and 2 sharks (redtail and rainbow)... they are all medium sized, the sharks are only about 2-2.5 inches long, i totalled all the inches of fish and it equals about 26 inches worth of fish... and i know that for every gallon of water you can put 1 inch of fish, so i guess my question is can i leave the fish like that for now? i know once they all reach full grown it will go over the 30 inches rule...

also i tested that water and found 1 ppm of ammonia in the tank after 3.5 weeks into the cycle, on the second week of the cycle i added some of the water from the established tank to help speed up the cycle

should i be worried about 1ppm of ammonia? there's 0 nitrites and about 20-40 nitrates, im wondering why the nitrates are showing up already? could it be because i added some of the established water? i know the tanks not cycled if it shows 1ppm of ammonia...

in my 40 gallon i just added 4 cichlids today, whats a good type of cleaner fish to go with cichlids? would a pleco be good or should i just stick with cichlids alone? the 40 gallon water is testing good with 0 ammonia, 0 nitrates, and about 20-40 nitrates...

do tiger barbs get along with cichlids?