Questions!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Wild

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
So i am just starting out and i'd like to get some opinions and explanations and all that fun stuff. I have no experience with fish keeping, and no upplies as of right now. I am currently hunting around locally to find a 30-55 gal used tank, to keep warmer FW fish in. (as it does get around 100 degrees here in the summer)
If the answers are on here, sorry to ask the question again, i couldn't find it

1) How difficult are planted tanks to maintain? Do they need a lot of maintenance? Are these fertilizers, special substrates and CO2 injections necessary? or just recommended?

2)With regular water changes and gravel cleaning, how often do you have to do large water changes(70-100%)? Do you ever do a full water change?

3)I have no room for a quarantine tank, will this be a big deal?

4)How long does a usual fish-less cycle take? With out all the extra tricks to speed it up (so no Ph downer, seeded material) and most likely a few mistakes thrown in there to

5)Is there any sites that has good trustworthy fish profiles? Any that have some recommended stocking plans?

6)Considering i'm a complete beginner(i'll have a very experienced friend helping though)Would it be okay to venture away from the recommended begginer fish? I'm not taking about having a ton of chichlids, or anything super delicate, but i'd like to get some of the prettier fish eventually. And i'd rather not kill them.

7)Can you really ship fish? So far my lfs havn't had the kinds of fish i'd like so i was just wondering how reliable shipping is? from a good dealer who ships a lot of course.

8)For feeding fish, how do you know what kind of food is good for all of them? How often do you mix up the type of food?