Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-30-2013, 03:55 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Sublimer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Lubbock/Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 38
Removing salt from brackish tank

Would I have to basically remove all the water? I wanna make my brackish tank into a freshwater tank without having to take absolutely everything out
__________________

__________________
"Tell me are you a Badfish too?"
Sublimer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 04:44 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Alyxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Slidell, La
Posts: 2,284
Send a message via AIM to Alyxx Send a message via Skype™ to Alyxx
When I upgraded my brackish tank to a bigger tank, I made the old tank back into a freshwater setup. I did a lot of water changes back to back, but I left the substrate and decor in. I just emptied it as much as I could, filled it back up with water, emptied it again, and so on until my hydrometer couldn't pick up any more salt in the water. It was a 20 gallon tank and I probably emptied it seven or eight times. It took a few hours, but I was able to make the change in a single evening. If i remember correctly i was running a salinity of around 1.015-1.0018 at the time so if you are running a more low end brackish tank it might not take so long. Then I rinsed my filter and put new media in it (I moved the old media to the filters on the larger tank) and started cycling it for freshwater.
__________________

__________________
Alyxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 07:04 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Sublimer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Lubbock/Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 38
Sounds fair enough. Mine is set at a SG of 1.008 so it shouldn't be too bad. I was just worried that the salt would be permanently settled into the substrate. Lord knows I'm not washing that much sand again lol
__________________
"Tell me are you a Badfish too?"
Sublimer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 08:08 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Alyxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Slidell, La
Posts: 2,284
Send a message via AIM to Alyxx Send a message via Skype™ to Alyxx
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sublimer View Post
Sounds fair enough. Mine is set at a SG of 1.008 so it shouldn't be too bad. I was just worried that the salt would be permanently settled into the substrate. Lord knows I'm not washing that much sand again lol
You pretty much have to, but you can leave the sand in the tank, haha. Just be sure to stir it up nicely when you fill it back up, then drain, fill, and stir it up again before you start the process over. 1.008 will probably be pretty easy to remove, but just be sure to test the water after every few rinses to see how much more you have to do. I just wish I had had a python when I did mine - I had to use buckets! Must have made 30 trips from my tank in my bedroom to the bathroom.
__________________
Alyxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
brackish, salt, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.