Root tabs?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

rainbowsmoke

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello! I'm new to aquariums, I just set up my ten gallon about a month ago. It is a planted tank with Anacharis, dwarf Amazon swords, and anubis. I was wondering if I need to use root tabs to help my plants out. I'm using Flourish liquid and my substrate is gravel. If I do need root tabs what would be the best to use? Thank you!

Sent from my XT907 using Aquarium Advice mobile app

What are the best root tabs to get?

I know a lot of people like the sea chem ones, but they cost more. I use the API root tabs and they work fine. I know some people also make their own out of osmocolite+ plant fertilizer.
Just making sure you know, but the anubias should be tied on wood or rock and not planted in the substrate :) and the anacharis is fine anywhere, it does not need root tabs to my knowledge.

Wow, thank you so much! It's so hard to go to my LFS here because they never tell me anything and I don't really know what to ask. Will I have to watch my water chemistry more when I put the tabs in?

I don't think they should affect your water chemistry, as long as you put them in fast before they dissolve, and make sure to bury them deep enough. I'm not sure how the other kinds are, but with my API tabs they start to get slimy and dissolve very fast once they are wet. I imagine if they dissolved completely in your water column this could cause a problem, but if it's just for a second before they're buried I don't think it will cause any issues.

Okay thank you! I just put my anubias in the rock as a temporary fix until I get rubber bands.