seeding new filter with bb

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

meviva

Aquarium Advice Regular
I'm in the process of getting a 125 gal. half round tank. It should be delivered in the next 2-3 weeks. I will be using a fluval fx5 filter. I currently have a 10 gal. tank with a penguin 100 filter w/biowheel that has been set up since Christmas. I have never used a canister filter before and still need to do some research about how it works. What can I do to help seed the new filter when it's time? If anyone has any suggestions, I would appreciate it.

Thanks!

Take whatever you have in the penguin reservior, filter pad, bag of media, whatever, and mix it in or lay it under your biomedia when you set your canister up.

Don't let the old media dry out during set up and be sure that no unconditioned/chlorinated water touches the old media.

You will cycled within a day.

Ok I will do that. Glad I will be able to do something to speed things up.

With the media from your old filter you will technically be instantly cycled, but remember you will only have the filtering capability of that smaller filter for a little while until the BB can grow in your FX5 media. dont go adding your whole planned stock right away, you will get an ammo spike because your BB cannot process it fast enough.

Are you moving the fish from the 10 gal to the new tank or is this a second tank? If you're moving everything over, just move all the media from the 10 to the new filter; it'll help cycle it but it won't instantly cycle it for a full load of fish as the media in the 10 will only support the current load of fish in the 10 gal, but it will help.