Setting up a dwarf puffer tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Fishy monkey

Aquarium Advice Activist
I've a 60 litre tank that I was going to use as a QT for my 165litre stock, but after I discovered dwarf puffers I've decided to use it for a species only tank.

It's currently mid fishless cycle using ammonia, I'm going to use a sand substrate which I'll be adding as soon as my LFS gets some in, and once the tanks cycled I'll be putting java fern in and some driftwood if I can ever get the piece I've got to sink!
Now the questions (I have looked online but there's nothing like getting direct answers from people in the know for specific questions!)-

I have no experience with live plants and was told the java fern was the easiest, just put it in and leave it, is this accurate?

Is there anything I need to be aware of regarding water parameters with live plants?

How many plants do I need, can I mix plastic with them or would it be best to just have live?

I'll be putting the plants in once it's cycled, but how long do I wait after that before adding the puffers, and how do I keep the tank going while I wait (I may have to special order the fish so there could be a few weeks gap) or will it be ok without me having to add an ammonia source?

I've never had a sand substrate, are there any special requirements for this and will it be ok with a gravel vac (some sites say hover the vac without touching the sand, others say vac it the same way as gravel)?

I don't know if there's anything I've overlooked, I'm really excited about getting dwarf puffers, they're so cute!! Thanks for any and all input here :)