setting up an office aquarium

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

DrwHem

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I recently got a 5 gallon tank from Marineland and am going to set it up in my office. The best place for it to fit is within 6 inches of a window so I already know there will probably be algae issues.
I have a 30 gallon freshwater aquarium at home that has been home to the same two fish for about 3 years as well as a 150 gallon outdoor pond with 5 two year old goldfish so im not a complete novice when it comes to setting up bio-filters and using plants to help out.
Ideally I would like to have 2 fish and either a snail or shrimp in the new aquarium but am not familiar with small aquarium setup. I also want to have at least one live plant.
(outside of betas) what would be the most compatible combination of fish and snails/shrimp and a live plant for an aquarium of this size?

I recently got a 5 gallon tank from Marineland and am going to set it up in my office. The best place for it to fit is within 6 inches of a window so I already know there will probably be algae issues.
I have a 30 gallon freshwater aquarium at home that has been home to the same two fish for about 3 years as well as a 150 gallon outdoor pond with 5 two year old goldfish so im not a complete novice when it comes to setting up bio-filters and using plants to help out.
Ideally I would like to have 2 fish and either a snail or shrimp in the new aquarium but am not familiar with small aquarium setup. I also want to have at least one live plant.
(outside of betas) what would be the most compatible combination of fish and snails/shrimp and a live plant for an aquarium of this size?

If you're worried about algae from sunlight, and the tanks back is facing the window you could paint the background black, or something of the like to limit the light getting into the tank.