Setting up my first aquarium, need advice

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Rolltide1980

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Ok so I'm relatively new to this, I've had a couple small fish tanks in the past, but they were given to me already stocked so I never really had to do the while setup from scratch. A few months ago I had a customer give me a 75 gallon tank (he told me it was 90 gallon but the dimensions say otherwise). It came with the whole lid and lighting setup, guess it's called a hood (?), a stand, and a Penguin BioWheel filter that sits on the back of the tank. I don't know the particular model of the filter off the top of my head, but I also had a smaller Penguin BioWheel filter so I'm going to use that one as well.

As far as gravel goes, the guy at Petco told me one pound per gallon, or 75 pounds,so I bought 60 pounds of some gravel that's supposedly suited for African cichlids and a 20 pound bag of regular white gravel.So anyways,I haven't bought a heater yet even though I know I will need one eventually, other than that, im not sure what else I need to start up my aquarium. I have a few assorted large rocks, all purchased at an aquatic store, mostly lava rocks with some Holey Rocks, Lace rocks etc. I plan on adding some plants, probably the fake variety but I want some that look somewhat real.