Setting up new aquarium – some questions….

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

sudeep21

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi All :D

I am a newbie, thinking of setting up my first freshwater tank. Have been doing extensive reading up on the www, and finally made up my mind to get the following -

1. A 40 gallon glass tank, with an overhead filter and 80 W fluorescent lights
2. About 10-12 tropical fish - still making up my mind on which kinds of fish though.
3. About 5-7 tropical plants. Will be also setting up a DIY CO2 (sugar, water & yeast) with a CO2 diffuser (using a powerhead)

After researching the internet, I think I have a good idea of the basic DO’s and DON’T’s, and shouldn’t be making stupid mistakes. But I still have some questions, and I hope some of the seasoned experts on this board can point me in the right direction…..

1. Do I need to use chemical/ biological filters for my setup? Will skipping these have any adverse effect?
2. I will be using commercial aquarium sand (~1mm dia, from my LFS) as the substrate for my plants. I have read that using a bottom layer of peat/garden soil will really help. Is this really beneficial, and does it affect fishes in any way?
3. I am using the ubiquitous 2L soda bottle, 2 cup sugar, 1 pinch yeast formula for my DIY CO2. I hope to get good CO2 adsorption using a DIY reactor (powerhead + Gravel-Vac tube). Question is – do I need to worry about excessive CO2 ppm, and/ or the KH, PH of the water. Is it essential to buy test-kits for KH/PH ?
4. I live in Singapore (tropical climate), and the temperature in my house would vary from 24 C (when the aircon is running) to 30 C (afternoon, aircon not running). But I don’t expect the temperature to fluctuate more than 5C any given day. Question is – Do I need a heater, to hold my water temp at around 29 C?