setup questions and help

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

fakdd

Aquarium Advice Newbie
i am very new at this to start with, so if i seem a little udmb about this, please forgive me.
first off, i have a 44 gal tank with a penguin 330 bio wheel filter, rock for substrate, 2 cory cats, 2 catfish (no idea what kind they came with the tank, 3 neon tetras, 3 black mollies, 3 white mollies, 1 blue gourami, 1 large pleco (maybe a tiger he came with my tank also), 1 african frog, and 2 black strip tetra.
my tank has been set up about a week and the filter was used in a 10 gallon tank for about a week and in the 44 for i don't know how long. the substrate was transferred from the 10 gallon.
my wife bought a wardley mater professional water test lab.

now for my questions:

1. My ph is at 6.2, and from reading in the forums i have not seen this value mentioned. Is this low?

2. My nitrite is 1.0 and nitrate is 10.0. Is this good?

3. the ammonia in the test set reads between 1.0 ~2.5 (not quite 2.5 but more than 1.0) and says to multiply by.0011 (the equilent of 78 degrees and 6.2 ph) when i do i get .00275, is this alright?

4. I have 3 sand stones, i fake rock formation, 2 trees (fake), and 1 tea pot (at least that what it looks like). Is this enough for the fish?

Now that i have this test set my wife bought (she works at a lfs) i am really lost. i have done alot of reading and thought that i had a grasp on this i am confused. could someone point me in the right direction.

thanks in advance.

fakdd

hey there. I'm quite new at this as well but I do know that Ammonia of any kind is harmful. The PH might be a little low. Check this site out, it might help you a bit.

Good luck and welcome to AA. :)

ok i have that twice now. once before placing the fish in the tank and now.