Snails in my tank during cycling

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

yaioa

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hi I have discovered tiny snails in my tank. I am new to all this and am 10 days into cycling my first ever aquarium. I have tried to follow advice from this site. I have put substrate, gravel and plants in it. I have filter, heater, CO2 supply and I also got seed from a friends established tank ( water squeezed from his filter ) which I put into my filter. He doesn't have any snails in his tank. Can the snails have come from the plants and more importantly, will they harm my tank? I don't have any fish yet and I am using ammonia to cycle the tank. What should I do about snails? Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Hi I have discovered tiny snails in my tank. I am new to all this and am 10 days into cycling my first ever aquarium. I have tried to follow advice from this site. I have put substrate, gravel and plants in it. I have filter, heater, CO2 supply and I also got seed from a friends established tank ( water squeezed from his filter ) which I put into my filter. He doesn't have any snails in his tank. Can the snails have come from the plants and more importantly, will they harm my tank? I don't have any fish yet and I am using ammonia to cycle the tank. What should I do about snails? Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Where did you get your plants from? I think I've read about some plants that come from petsmart or petco someone's have snails in them.