Soft, alkaline water - advice needed

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

sami

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Newbie here. Very much a novice with aquariums. Just got my daughter a 5 gal tank and couldn't get the pH down below 7.8. Only 10-14 days into cycling and high nitrites too (nitrates 0). We have well water which is treated with water softener. I did a 25% water change yesterday with no change in test strip parameters so I used "pH decreaser" well above the recommended amount on the bottle with no change in pH. I checked the water from my tap and it is very soft and alkaline at 7.8. I then tested the test strips and they read vinegar as acidic so they're ok. I added "Microbe-Lift" yesterday in hopes of lowering nitrites but no difference yet, and no difference with a second 25% water change today.
Should I be doing something else to lower nitrites more quickly?
Should I be doing something else to lower pH more quickly, or is this a losing battle with alkaline tap water?
My test strips don't check ammonia levels, so I'm going to store to get some of those.
Any help or suggestions much appreciated...
Sami

1. You generally don't get alkaline soft water - I can make something like that in the lab, but it is not common in natural water system.
2. Test stripe are not terribly accurate. Although the pH test is adequate, I wouldn't trust anything else.
3. pH of 7.8 is just fine for most (or all fish) - no need to mess with it! If the pH is stable (ie same as your tap), let it be. PH do tend to drift up during cycling, you control that with water cahnges.