Staring Brackish Tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

sabbott1877

Aquarium Advice Activist
I am interested in starting a brackish tank, not just getting brackish fish and putting them in FW. I have a 20gal Long tank. Basically, is it worth it and what is different about it?

Thanks

Most brackish fish need 30gal or more. It is not worth it IMO, The only thing you could keep pretty much are mollies, a 20gal is just too small for alot of fish. Maybe a few mollies would be nice. You could probly keep a fe bumblebee gobies, even though they should be house in 30gal or more. IMHO, i think it is just not worth it. It would be better to just set up a SW, or FW. That way you have more possibilities.

I am not an expert on brackish tanks but I don't think you don't need a 30 gallon tank. A 20 gallon long tank will work just fine as a brackish tank. With a smaller tank, your options for fish will be severly limited though.

Also, many fresh water fish (and plants) do okay in lightly brackish tanks with a SG of 1.005 or less. There are a few of them but right off the top of my head I know platies and guppies will work.

Here's a link to a good starting page. Although I don't completely agree with thier stocking ideas...its a good general start though. Click Here

brackish is "semi-salt"

it is environments you find near salt water bodies that are connected to freshwater bodies, like the tributaries in florida, and the mississippi delta

I just finished setting up a 20Long brackish tank. Right now it's not planted but I have one mollie and 4 bumblebee gobies. They all get blackworms as food once every 2 days. The SG of my tank is at 1.008 and all of my fish are doing just fine! The gobies are extremely entertaining to watch dart around the tank.