Starting a new 20gal.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

kryat

Aquarium Advice Newbie
i recently got a brand new 20 gal tank, and I'm still kind of new to this aquarium stuff, and I'm really excited about it. And I am wondering what is the best way to cycle the tank?

I've read a few articles on the subject (both here and elsewhere), but i was hoping to get a little more advice.

I was thinking about getting a few zebra danios to cycle, but I was wondering if it would be alright to use a Betta or a few rummy nosed tetra to cycle the tank?

And what exactly does StressZyme do, if anything for freshwater tanks? Is it worth it, some people say it works great, but I don't know I'm kind of skeptical.

How much gravel should optimally be in the bottom of the 20 gal tank? I've heard 1 lbs for every gallon.

Also, I was wondering when cleaning the tank with a syphon vacuum, how careful should I be with the gravel bed, as to not disrupt the bacteria bed?

Last, but not least, should I need to get an air pump/bubble maker for this 20 gal tank. I know that most of the oxygen exchange happens at the surface. Would it do anything to help the fish, or would it just look neat? And is it possible to have TOO much oxygen in the tank.

Sorry about all the questions, and thanks in advance. :)

I'm still learning all this stuff.

And I am wondering what is the best way to cycle the tank?

Fishless, look in the articles section on this site and read about it.

I was thinking about getting a few zebra danios to cycle, but I was wondering if it would be alright to use a Betta or a few rummy nosed tetra to cycle the tank?

Fishless cycling is much better than cycling with fish.

And what exactly does StressZyme do, if anything for freshwater tanks? Is it worth it, some people say it works great, but I don't know I'm kind of skeptical.