Starting With A 30 gallon tall.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

BigCDubya

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi, I am new to this site and I just had some questions.

I want to start an aquarium soon I have some questions.

Im going to have a 30 gallon tall aquarium filtered by a Fluval 304. I want to put the following in the aquarium. 2 small fan tail gold fish, 2-3 small angel fish, 1 Tropical Discus, 3-4 fancy guppies and a blue dwarf gourami.

1st question - Is that too many fish for the tank size?

2nd question - Will the above fish be safe to put together?

3rd question - What media will be best for the 304 with this setup.

Thanks, look forward to your answers!

Welcome! Like I said to another person here, I love the pple on this forum, they are so helpful and full of great advice.

I am no expert, but from what I do know I know that goldfish are coldwater fish and can't be kept with tropical fish because the water conditions are different.

I know nothing at all about discus or the other fish though. I would be concerned about the bigger fish eating and harassing the guppies, though.

ps for a change someone is asking the questions before they dive in head first, get in a fix and don't know what to do (um, like I did :) )