Steps to success? 5.5 Gal tank and Red Eyed Tetras

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

TheKraken1483

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello! I'm new to the aquarium scene and I'm trying to get my first tank up and running successfully. I recently decided to get a small tank and a few fish to start out. I got a 5.5G Top Fish brand tank from Petsmart, a couple of fake plants, 2 deco items (one for the fish to hide under), and a little over 5 lbs of rocks and a heater. Firstly, I rinsed off all of the rocks and deco items and then set up the tank. I put some Prime branded stuff to the right dosage that is supposed to get the tank ready by getting rid of nitrites and nitrates as well as chlorine. Then I let the tank run for a little over a day and then went and got 3 red eyed tetras along with Tetramin flake food, bloodworms, and a bottle of Stresszyme to add in some good bacteria and jump start the bio load (I guess). I added that to the tank and put the bag of fish into the tank to acclimate them to it and get the Stresszyme circulated. After about 10 mins I added a small amout of the tank water to the bag and then waited anothe 10 or 15 minutes before catching the fish with the net and releasing them into the tank.