Stocking advice

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

brianwestchest

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I just got a 45 gallon tank and have begun a fish in cycle with (3) Tiger Barbs per the advice of the guy at the LFS. I'm new to the fish business and need help deciding on how to stock it out. I considered salt water because the fish are more interesting and colorful. But, I didn't want to get into that much chemistry. I would still like to have a variety of interesting and active fish.

I know I like Cory cats and want those as bottom feeders. I'd also really like sharks. But I was going to get Bala sharks until I read they get pretty big, need a lot of room and do better in schools. I also would like a Plecoptera as an algae eater. I am now considering the red tail shark as I understand they do well alone and don't get as big as fast as the Balas.

Any suggestions to add to the Tiger Barbs and Cory cats? What type of pleco should I get? Would the red tail shark be OK? It'd be cool to get something I could breed fairly easily. The mollies we have in our 10 gallon tank have had babies (all eaten or died though). I'd like some really unusual looking and interesting fish. Maybe shrimp and/or frogs?

I just got a 45 gallon tank and have begun a fish in cycle with (3) Tiger Barbs per the advice of the guy at the LFS. I'm new to the fish business and need help deciding on how to stock it out. I considered salt water because the fish are more interesting and colorful. But, I didn't want to get into that much chemistry. I would still like to have a variety of interesting and active fish.