Stocking Ideas for 75 Gal

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

GEOlson

Aquarium Advice Regular
I've been doing a lot of reading between different sites and forums and still can't come to a conclusion on what I'd like to stock my 75 gal. tank with. I'm still a beginner with keeping fish so I know I can't get fish too advanced like African Cichlids, but I'd like something different than tetras. I was looking into SA Dwarf Cichlids and Dwarf Gouramis, but I'm having a hard time finding good information about them and the different kinds. With my current 29 gal tank my water's Ph is about 8.2, so I expect that with my 75 gal, which I don't have yet, but am in the planning stages of, will be the same. I was originally thinking about having a goldfish tank but decided I want to have more than 4 fish in it and I also found out it's not recommended to mix fancy and non fancy types. Anyway, any recommendations for a 75 gal setup for a beginner? And I was planning on having the tank planted, but probably simple plants like anacharis.

Thanks!

I would not say that Africans are an advanced fish, nor complicated to keep. IMO, they dont really require anything that other fish dont. Really, the only thing different between Africans, and say Tetras, are they you have to provide some cover (rocks) for them to hide in. They do produce a little more waste, which means that keeping up on water changes, and having a good filter are a must. I would encourage you to go with the fish you want. I get a lot of enjoyment out of my africans.

To be honest, an african tank is going to be a whole lot easier and require a whole lot less attention than a planted tank would. And the fish are just so much more fun!

BTW, Welcome to AA :)