Stocking Suggestions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Quest84

Aquarium Advice FINatic
Hey all, I wanted to get your opinions on a couple of things. I recently started buying everything i need to get my 55gal bowfront up and running. I purchased a Fluval C4 and a Aquaclear 70. The Fluval has a mini wet/dry built into it. I was wondering if any of you have used this filter, and what do you think of it?

Also, I'm trying to figure out which kind of fish to get, a few that have caught my eye are the cardinal tetra, neon tetra, tiger barb and glofish (not sure the proper name) can these fish be kept together? Which other fish would make good tank mates with these guys? How many fish can I keep in my tank with the filters that i have?

thanks to everyone who has been helping me get started, I'm still a noob..but I'm learning quickly from you guys :fish2:

All those fish will suit your tank but the tiger barbs can't go with the tetras. They can get quite nippy and fight amounts themselves. The glofish are actually zebra danios.
What I would get is a school of neons or cardinals, a school of glofish, a centre piece fish and some bottom dwellers like cories, kuhlis or a bristlenose.

I agree, one large school of Cardinals or Neons (12 - 15) along with a school of Kughlis (8 or so) and a school of Glo-fish (8 or so) and maybe a Bristlenose Pleco if you like them and have algae for them to graze on.

kinda disappointed lol, I really wanted to get those tiger barbs but not if there gonna kill all my other fish. I also liked the clown loach and some of the sharks

thanks for the suggestion on the khulis..but they kinda look like snakes to me and i hate snakes haha

Quest84 said:
kinda disappointed lol, I really wanted to get those tiger barbs but not if there gonna kill all my other fish. I also liked the clown loach and some of the sharks