Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-26-2013, 11:08 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Munchie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 179
Substrate change 2 weeks ago now Amonia at 2ppm

I switched from gravel to Tahitian moon sand 2 weeks ago. Now my nitrate and nitrite are at 0 ppm..however my Amonia is at 2 ppm. I have not cleaned by bio filter in a few months as I wanted to ensure I wasn't causing harm when I switched substrate. I used Prime when I did a 20% water change last night, however the Amonia is scary at 2 ppm. Any tips? Should I clean my bio filter and add Amonia reducing pads or will that throw off my water quality since the sand is only a few weeks old?
__________________

__________________
Munchie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 11:16 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Oceangirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Florida
Posts: 643
I would do a 50% water change, That high ammonia sound pretty bad and your fish will start to become effected by it. I switched my Sub from one sand color to another and did not have this kind of spike. are you sure nothing sprayed, came near accidentally dumped or dripped into your tank? You need to get that level down to amm 0
__________________

__________________
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/fishin-cycling-step-dark-side/
Fish in Cycling
By Jetajockey
Oceangirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 12:02 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Munchie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 179
Thanks, will do. Should I also clean the bio filter? Change carbon/nitrate pads?
__________________
Munchie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 12:33 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Oceangirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Florida
Posts: 643
Change the water and swish your biofilter, pads whatever media in your filter in the bucket or used water. I give mine several to a 12 good squeezes. that gets rid of all the fish particles. Make sure to use old tank water or it will kill your BB. Then next week, take some tank water and swish it in the housing. Then dump it. Have you checked for dead fish or snails in your tank? That maybe your ammonia source. you have nitrate pads in there? What kind of filter is it?
__________________
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/fishin-cycling-step-dark-side/
Fish in Cycling
By Jetajockey
Oceangirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 02:21 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Munchie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 179
Thanks, no dead fish. It is a eheim cannister filter. I have nitrate and carbon pads in with the coco pebble looking glass balls
__________________
Munchie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 02:31 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 713
did you do a really good gravel cleaning before you started to change to sand? stirring up a bunch of poop and waste products might be causing the rise in ammonia. everyone gave you good advice so i think you'll get a handle on your problem soon. good luck.
__________________
jpchin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 08:16 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Munchie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 179
I did not do a thorough vac prior. Just changed 50 gallons, dropped a little. Will be doing the filter tomorrow to see if that helps at all.

Thanks for the good advice!
__________________
Munchie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 09:48 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Munchie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 179
Update: cleaned the filter using tank water and now my nitrates are thru the roof and Amonia is still a issue. What's next?
__________________
Munchie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 10:17 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Hholly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Central Indiana
Posts: 3,090
It sounds like a mini cycle caused by changing the substrate. Keep up water changes but don't clean the filter anymore until the cycle is over. Overcleaning just gets rid of more BB.
__________________
Hholly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 10:37 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Munchie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 179
Thanks, how much and how often?
__________________
Munchie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 02:16 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Hholly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Central Indiana
Posts: 3,090
If you have a test kit, change 25-50% whenever it gets above .25ppm. If you don't have a test kit. Change 50% at least every day. Good luck!
__________________

__________________
Hholly is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
amonia, change, substrate

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×