Suggestions on fish type and number

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Arg

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi
I am new to aquariums
I have a 28g tank with heater and aqueon quiet flow filter
I have started cycling the tank with 4 black tetras

I am confused on chosing between platies and male guppies. Which is more hardy? How many can I get?
I also plan on getting 2 siamese alage eaters . Is that sufficient?
Appreciate any help

First I think platies are hardier. Second siamese alage eaters can get huge! Third the tetras need to be in groups of at least 5 or 6.

Agree with SmallFish; algae eaters can get up to 12." Much too big for your tank. I've found that they really don't do a very good job of algae control, and the bigger they get, the less algae they eat; and the uglier they get. If you wait until your tank is established and algae starts to appear, you could get a small group of Oticinclus; I believe they're much more efficient at algae control.

Agree with SmallFish; algae eaters can get up to 12." Much too big for your tank. I've found that they really don't do a very good job of algae control, and the bigger they get, the less algae they eat; and the uglier they get. If you wait until your tank is established and algae starts to appear, you could get a small group of Oticinclus; I believe they're much more efficient at algae control.

Haha yes those SAE's do get large....and ugly! Oto's are great little algae eaters.

Check gh/kh if your trying to do hard and soft species. Assuming the tetras survive