Supersaturation?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

GouramiGuru

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hey everybody; I am currently dealing with a problem that I have had very little experience with thus far in the hobby. I have been in the proccess of setting up and cycling a new/old 10 gallon tank. Now, everything is going pretty normal despite the speed bumps of finding out that my tap water has abnormally high ammonia/chloramine levels -- but recently some strange things have been occuring.

I am running a 10 gallon tank with two 10 gallon Tetra Corner Filters (we already had them, and money has been tight since moving), accompanied by an airstone. At the moment there is a Dwarf Gourami and an Anubias Nana attached to lava rock in the tank; however, when I added an African Dwarf Frog it quickly succumbed to Gas Bubble Disease. Several weeks later I added a small school of Corydoras (Brochis Splendens); initially when introduced to the tank they acted normally, however, after a few hours they became much more inactive, and I began to notice what seemed to be the initial stages of pop-eye on two of the smaller ones. When I woke up the next morning the entire school of them had passed :(.

Ammonia is at 0, Nitrite is 0, and small amounts of Nitrates are present (well below anything harmful to fish.) I am only now realizing that I may be supersaturating the tank with oxygen, carbon dioxide, nitrogen, or an abundance of too much gaseous material in some way, shape, or form?

I love fish and absolute love this hobby; but this is an aspect of the trade I have never really encountered, so if someone could please enlighten me as to what my problem is or what I am doing wrong, it would be utmost appreciated.