switching out carbon/biological filter affected?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

MDDad

Aquarium Advice Activist
Have to switch out my carbon insert in my Aqueon HOB filter, it's pretty delapitated and starting to 'fall apart'. It's my first time since adding fish that I'll have to change it. I did fishless cycling before adding fish, and so far my numbers have been good.

Will I see an ammonia/nitrite spike if/when I switch it out? I guess my question is, what % of my beneficial bacteria actually resides where Aqueon says it does (I think the "biological filter" is a blue plastic thing in there) vs. on the floss of the carbon insert? I have an Aqueon Quietflow.

I realize the bacteria live on pretty much all surfaces, but are a significant number going to be removed when I do this?

Sorry if my terminology is a bit off, but hopefully you get my drift.

Mine is falling apart too and I'll be dealing with this same issue. So, I'm hoping to be able to get an answer from this thread as well. Sorry I'm no help!

I can't seem to find anything definitive. I've seen it posted here and elsewhere that you can stick the new one and old one together in the slot, but the way this one is designed, it really doesn't fit in there.

I don't know for certain how much BB is on the insert you're talking about but I, personally, wouldn't worry about it too much. Most of the bacteria (from what I understand anyway) would be on that blue thing you were talking about which is indeed the biological filtration part of the filter. Or in the substrate of the tank itself possibly.

Honestly, I don't bother with carbon at all unless removing some medication.